Bob Dylan T-Shirt – My album of 2012

January 1, 2013 § Leave a comment

Bob Dylan T-Shirt

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” – Bob Dylan

It’s a little bit disappointing that my album of the year is an album of Bob Dylan songs, considering he started out in the 1960s. But, if you’ve heard the Chimes of Freedom album for Amnesty International that was released in January 2012, you’ll understand. It’s a phenomenal album which not only showcases current talent in its best light, but also highlights the wonders of arguably the best songwriter of the 20th century. Therefore, a Bob Dylan T-Shirt is needed.

Simply, here is a run down of my favourite 10 tracks from this enormous album. In no particular order…

1. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door – An exceptionally moving song, full of heartfelt words and musical brilliance. Short and sweet, this is one of the greatest laments ever written. Performed on this album by RedOne Feat. Nabil Khayat.

2.It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue – One of those purely honest Dylan songs. It’s all about the end, and an honesty in breaking-up that is seldom heard. Performed on this album by Bad Religion who give it a subtly punked-up feel.

3. Buckets Of Rain – A seminal love-song that makes other pale in its wake. Performed on this album by Fistful of Mercy – and what’s better than hearing a Dylan song performed by George Harrison’s son. Magical.

4. Subterranean Homesick Blues – A poem for the 20th century about youth, growing up and life’s many intricacies. It was always a fun song, but on this album it’s performed by Michael Franti who lends his beautiful voice to the majesty of this sensationally written number.

5. Desolation Row – One that really rings with the current political situations in the west. You can really hear the restless riot squads in this song, performed by My Chemical Romance who give a sloppy rock feel to this resonating anthem.

6. Outlaw Blues – If any song makes you feel different, empowered and original, it’s the Outlaw Blues. The Queens of The Stone Age give this track their typical masterful treatment, making it firmly affirmative and boisterous. A great recording.

7. Quinn The Eskimo – Need a hero for the modern age? Quinn the Eskimo is just that, and this wonderful acoustic version performed by Kris Kristofferson is a powerful ballad worthy of a listen.

8. Ballad Of Hollis Brown  – Another song for the 21st century. Hollis Brown is a poverty-stricken man in search of some sort of help. Sound familiar? This song is given aggression, frustration and added feeling by Rise Against.

9. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere – A beautifully playful song, full of love and happiness. Performed on this album by Brett Dennen, it’s almost impossible not to sing/sway along with this magical track.

10. This Wheel’s On Fire – Another wonderful love song. performed on this album by Charlie Winston whose stunning voice brings more romance and passion to this number.

So there you go. A great album. Bearing in mind, I’ve picked just 10 of over 70 songs from this four disc set. What’s more, if you decide to pick it up, the proceeds go to Amnesty International, so you’ll be doing good and getting something brilliant out of it at the same time. I urge you to pick it up.

As for the t-shirt, this one comes from where it costs £11.99. It comes in many colours sizes from Small to XXXL. If you’ve got an album of 2012, let me know. Just leave a comment below!



About these ads


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bob Dylan T-Shirt – My album of 2012 at bigscarytees - a t-shirt blog.



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: